A right to good health?

As I’m sitting here writing this blog and I am in great pain in my right knee.  I just landed a decent job, supposed to start in a week and a half.  I can barely walk on my right knee.  I have already given notice to my former job.  Has God abandoned me?  God knew what was going to happen when I applied for the new job and turned in my resignation for the old one.

I try to leave a half decent life, should God owe me a healthy knee, need time to start my job and try get health benefits and some time off to recuperate from whatever is going to happen to my knee?  Should I be doubting through my faith trying to figure out what’s going on?

Do I have a right to good health?  I think of Johnny Erickson, and my friend Bill whom blogs on WordPress as unshakable hope, they both have wonderful ministries and reach many people.  However, they both have health problems, they are different but, nonetheless glaring health problems.

Why would a common guy like me deserve better health than these two fine warriors of the Lord doing wonderful work bringing his peace and love to the world?  So here, I am in my pain, and feeling sorry for the bad situation I am in.  Should I even ask God to heal my knee so I can go to a new job or even work?

My best answer is yes I should ask.  But my attitude is I have no right to ask God to help me in this situation.  For now it is like this, here in the Shadowlands where there is dark and light, good and evil, there is a price to pay in fallenness.  However, the price I pay is a bargain compared to my life without God.  If God decides not to heal my knee it simply means he has another plan for my life that I gave to him upon my salvation.  Help my faith in Jesus and his everlasting love.

Salvation is kind of a word that says God fulfilled All laws of the Old Testament’s requirement in perfect obedience.  Because of this perfect obedience to the law of the Old Testament God was able by one death to pay for all sin that was ever committed.  He kept the law because he knew I could never do it on my own or even with his help here in this world that we live in.  Jesus is risen and living today.

I currently have his help in the Holy Spirit indwelling me, I still struggle with the darkness and go to war war with it on a regular basis.  It seems that I win battles but only to find that there are so many more to be fought.  At first this sounds discouraging but, God is a life-giving Redeemer.  This gives an ability for me to see how short I fall of his glory and be encouraged because he has promised to love me and obliterated my biggest problem I had.  I never have to worry about going to hell ever again because the work of Jesus.  It has nothing to do at all with my work that I do but everything with the work that he does.

All I did was receive Jesus’s perfect work by answering his call, no work involved at all on my part.  Now about my knee, if I have trusted God with my salvation and life.  Why am I having such a hard time trusting with something as simple as the human knee.

There are many medical procedures to help fix knees and other parts of the body.  The timing and everything else of this injury has been so wrong for me.  One day I am fine the next day I’m barely walking.  I am in a struggle with doubt and want, darkness is of varying degree.  Help me Lord Jesus!

OUCH,

Denny

4 thoughts on “A right to good health?

  1. I’m sorry to read about your pain. You are right that physical pain can often create in us spiritual pain and open the way for weeds of doubt to grow.

    God wants us to turn to him in our times of trial. He tells us to seek him, to ask for wisdom and mercy. As a child of God, you do have a right to approach the throne of God and ask for what you need. However, like all loving parents do, He may sometimes tell us no, or not now. But if the answer is no, He will send His Comforter to help you through the trial. Lift your eyes to where your help comes from. May God bless you in your good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the compassion in my pain. As I read your note I am reminded that God is unpredictable in dealing with His children. If I am walking in faith though, no matter what happens it will work to good in His Kingdom and for me.

      Is this the definition of abundant life He is calling us into? Thank you for the encouragement.
      Denny

      Liked by 1 person

    1. ear’s brother Bill, you have been such a rock of encouragement to me, I am not worthy of your prayers but I thank you very kindly for them. I think and pray for you often my friend. It was a blessing to hear from you in your writing to me personally. You are a gifted encourager, continue to fight the good fight my dear brother.
      Denny

      Like

Leave a Reply

