A 1% Christian

1% is one part of 100 units.  So, if I had a stack of 100 pennies, took one of the pennies away, one penny would be an example of one percent of the 100 pennies available.  One part of 100 is another way of saying 1%.  You can do this with money, commodities, intellectual property, and all static things in the universe can be measured in this way.

My original thoughts on being a 1% Christian, as the idea physically came into focus, was to think that the work that God did was 99% of what being a Christian is, and I only contributed a measly 1% through my free will choices to be a Christian.  Then I was going to say how prideful I was in thinking that I even had 1% control over this area of being a Christian.

Okay maybe, not bad, I could easily think through this 1% idea in the Bible.  I would cite such verses as, Matthew 11: 28Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”.  I could also use 2 Corinthians 4:17 For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison,          Still there was something missing.

Then God finally got my attention and the verses in James 1: 16 Do not be deceived, my beloved brothers. 17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow due to changed 18 Of his own will he brought us forth by the word of truth, that we should be a kind of first fruits of his creatures.  The obvious question was whether or not I was including the source of all good!?

I had to rethink my assumptions.  As long as you are talking about a limited amount of material, it is possible to calculate 1%. With the eternal clearly unmeasurable, what is 1%?  Then the story of the parables came to mind.  Jesus took simple everyday things and compared them to heavenly concepts and ideas that were perfect.  Most every parable pushed hard enough will break down in trying to describe something perfect.  Anytime I use imperfection to compare to perfection the imperfection is willfully deficient in expressing truth of the perfect heavenly concept.

So in the weakness of this 1% analogy of the Christian participation in Christianity I hope you will forgive me for my pride, but please, never forget the source of all good that mankind has ever experienced.  Do not be misled that you are unimportant to God.  I present two truths that you are the least and you are the greatest at the selfsame moment with God.

What is mankind that God has taken notice of him?  All good comes from God in Heaven, not from any person.  All truth, all love, all pure and kind acts, no matter who performs them comes from God and belong to God.  Do not be fooled in any of this.  We are least in these matters.

At the very same moment and in all eternity it is also true that Jesus came and in his weakest moment with great suffering, gave up life.  Then the life that was stolen from him by Lucifer was picked up again in the resurrection happened totally out of Satan’s control.  Our beaten foe has strong propaganda on the source of all the evil that goes on in this world.  Do not be fooled.  We are most important in these matters.

You are very important to God and you were judged worthy by God, of his suffering on the cross which makes you a royal priesthood unto God.  God still gives himself to us by pursuing us each and every one, calling us to come to him.  If you want to become new, accept Jesus as your personal savior.

The evil one will use every tool of discouragement available to him to stop you.  God will allow you to make the choice on who you believe more strongly.  The gentle way hard choice or the entrapment way of no choice, This is the choice we have in this world to make continually as we live and breath.

I am a 1%, Christian, because I give so little and receive so much in return from a pure heavenly place that my father dwells.  I pray this truth will be understood through this poor parable.  Much as the in the parable of the talents, we invest life that is not ours, to honor and glorify a God who wants to give more to us.  Or we bury our talent/life in our self, living a much lesser life that is broken down and worn out.Then the good hidden is taken away and gifted to the investors.  A Life without hope, but filled with fear, worry, anger and a loveless life, can be healed and renewed.  Continuing with troubles, unimpeded by God’s good, as it is now on earth, forever is the alternative default choice.

It is your choice.  If someone makes a choice for you then you are being blackmailed or coerced to love God.  This is not God’s character.  God’s character “you to choose” to love him and trust him. or not.  This is what free will is all about.  Don’t be confused it is your choice.  The choice on how close you follow him once you become a Christian is absolutely yours also.  God is not a taker.  God is a source and you must travel up to him using His power and forgiveness to get to the source.  Are you an overcomer in life?

Humbly submitted,

1% Denny

Leave a Reply

